Apple Cranberry Crisp

I told you I’d have lots of apple recipes for you, and here’s one more! It may look like a funny mass of oats and apples, but it’s actually a heap of pure autumn goodness with a kick of cranberry tartness. We’re a bit appled-out here at the Kotecki Kompound (i.e. our one bedroom apartment), but there are plenty more fall recipes to look forward to! Why just this week I had my first bite of pumpkin bread of the season. Hip, hip, hooray (for the fall)!

Ingredients
Source: Adapted from Simply Recipes
7 tart apples, peeled, cored and sliced
1 10 oz. bag of frozen cranberries, thawed
4 tsp. fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 rounded tsp. cinnamon
1 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup butter, room temperature

Directions
Preheat oven to 375.
1. In a mixing bowl, combine apples, 3/4 of the bag of cranberries, lemon juice, and vanilla. Toss to combine.
2. Layer sliced apples in a 9 x 12-inch baking pan.
3. Combine brown sugar, cinnamon, and oatmeal in a bowl. Cut in the butter. Sprinkle sugar mixture over apples.
4. Bake 45 minutes or until topping looks crunchy and apple-cranberry mixture are tender.

Voila!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Barbara says:

    I was looking for just such a recipe for a dinner party on Saturday night. I like the idea of cranberries combined with the apples.

  2. Emily says:

    Hi Barbara! I’m so glad you found what you were looking for! Let me know how it turns out 🙂

  3. Barbara says:

    I actually used a combination of apples, pears, cranberries, and blueberries. It was great that I could make it the day before and then just throw it in the oven to reheat when we sat down to dinner. I served it with vanilla ice cream and a variety of cheeses. It’s a recipe I will use again, definitely!

Leave a comment